Ten Buccaneers earn all-conference honors

Ten Blinn College Buccaneers were named to the Southwest Junior College Football Conference (SWJCFC) all-conference team, head coach Ronny Feldman announced today.

Sophomore offensive lineman Arthur Fatu (Klein Oak) and sophomore defensive back Demetrius Woodard (Aldine McArthur) earned first-team honors while sophomore safety Mitchell Villemez (Hardin) earned second-team recognition.

Center Chance McCormick (Dayton), defensive back Tevin Broussard (Beaumont Central), defensive back Jevon Neal (Austin McCallum), linebacker Ryan Flannigan (Marshall), offensive lineman Tyler Edwards (Malvern), specialist Shyquawn Pullium (Erie Cathedral) and tight end Chris Loving (Klein) received honorable mention.

Fatu, a 6-1, 335-pound sophomore, was a first-year starter for the Buccaneers while Woodard led the Buccaneers with 52 tackles in seven games and forced three fumbles.

Villemez, a 6-1, 220-pound safety, was second on the team with 43 tackles.

Northeastern Oklahoma A&M quarterback Clayton Mitchem was named the conference MVP, while Tyler quarterback Tyrik Rollison was named the offensive MVP. Kilgore linebacker Charles Woods was named defensive MVP.

The Buccaneers went 2-6 on the year and 1-5 in the SWJCFC. Blinn entered the season with nine consecutive winning seasons, including bowl appearances in each of the previous four years.