Buccaneers fill coffers with defensive talent

The Blinn Buccaneers filled their coffers with defensive talent on National Signing Day Wednesday.

Of the 31 high school football standouts who signed, 18 came from the defensive side of the ball, including nine defensive backs. The Buccaneers recently switched from a 4-3 defense to a 4-2-5, a formation that requires an additional defensive back in place of a linebacker.

"We really felt like we had a need on the defensive side, and with the new formation we focused on defensive backs," said Ronny Feldman, who just completed his second season as the Buccaneers' head coach. "They're very talented kids and we're really happy with those skill players."

The Buccaneers also grabbed seven defensive and three offensive linemen.

Blinn added a pair of quarterbacks in San Antonio Reagan's Kyle Keller and La Grange's Logan Vinklarek.

"Last year we were short at quarterback so we wanted to make sure our bases were covered there, and you can never get enough offensive linemen," Feldman said.

Here are the players who signed with Blinn Wednesday. Click on the players' names to see their high school photo:


NAME                                     POS     HIGH SCHOOL             HT        WT

Kyle Keller                               QB       Reagan                        6-3       215

Logan Vinklarek                      QB       La Grange                   6-2       225

Derick Brown                          WR      Aldine                          5-10     170

Charrod Henry                          WR      College Park                6-2       175

Marcus Goodson                     WR      Klein Collins                5-10     180

Derrick Gillis                           WR      Northshore                  6-1       175

Gaylon Sanders                       RB        Temple                        5-8       190

Jericho Worrell                       RB        Aldine Eisenhower      6-1       190

Othello Gibson                        RB        Klein                            5-10     190

Frederick Johnson                   OL        Temple                        6-3       310

Chad Loitz                               OL        McNeil                        6-2       315

Austin Pratt                             OL        Sealy                            6-2       270

Will Janosek                            K          McNeil                        5-9       170

Romelius Rhone                      DT        Fort Bend Bush            6-5       280

Zachary Fattig                         DT        Clear Falls                   6-3       280

Nicholas Cornman                  DT        Cypress Ranch             6-2       246

Jamikal Potts                           DE        Spring Westfield         6-2       220

Darian Childers                       DE        Copperas Cove            6-1       230

Damon Washington Jr.           DE        Northshore                  6-4       250

Deon Brown                            DE        Angleton                      6-0       235

Garrett Sharp                          LB        Memorial                    6-2       215

John Massey                            LB        Killeen Shoemaker      6-0       205

Mark Domio                            LB        Summer Creek            5-11     215

Ron Knowles                            S          Westfield                     5-11     180

Darrell Jackson                       S          James Madison           6-5       205

Jacque Le Blanc                      S          North Forest                5-11     180

Carlos Smith                            S          C.E. King                      5-11     185

Miquo Willie                           CB        Baytown Lee               5-11     175

Goldie Jones                            CB        Westfield                     5-10     163

Marcus Thompson                  CB        Refutio                        6-1       190

Reginald Anderson                  CB        Stephen F. Austin        5-9       165

Buccaneers win SWJCFC opener
September 15, 2013 Buccaneers win SWJCFC opener