No. 16 Blinn College softball finishes conference season with best record in program history

BRENHAM, Texas — No. 16 Blinn College softball (42-13, 23-1) split the series with Galveston College Wednesday at Hohlt Park to conclude the conference season with the best record in program  history after securing a conference championship earlier in  the year.

Blinn opened the doubleheader with an 11-3 run-rule win in six innings, but the Whitecaps came back to defeat the Buccaneers 7-5 in the second game.

"This team accomplished maintaining the best conference record in Blinn softball history and that is something to be proud of," said Rick Church, Blinn head coach. "What a remarkable comeback season this team has had after being 11-10 at one point and now holding a 42-13 record. That should inspire them heading into the regional tournament because this team is capable of so much."

With the split, Blinn finished the conference season with a 23-1 record.

Blinn 11 – Galveston 3

The Buccaneers had to overcome an early deficit before running away with an 11-3 run-rule win over Galveston in six innings to open the doubleheader.  

Meghan Morris claimed the win in the circle, allowing only three runs on five hits in six innings.

Sarah Cedillo and Anna Pisaro did their job as leadoff hitters, accumulating three hits apiece to lead Blinn. Pisaro and Mayela Fernandez each drove in two runs, while Mackenzi Crews scored three runs in the win.

"I am really proud of our team for overcoming a rough start this season and playing for each other," Pisaro said. "Our team chemistry is really good this year and we all have confidence in each other to get the job done. We believe in our teammates and in ourselves and that is what has helped us get this far."

A two-run homer allowed the Whitecaps to take an early 2-0 lead in the first inning that they held onto until the fourth inning when Blinn's offense exploded with six runs.

Blinn gained on Galveston 2-1 in the bottom of the first inning when Cedillo scored on a groundout off the bat of Kimber Cortemelia.

The Buccaneers continued to trail 2-1 until Maria Garcia sparked the offense with a leadoff home run to tie the game in the fourth. Following the home run, the Buccaneers kept the momentum by loading the bases as Bailey Zibelin and Crews hit back-to-back singles, and Courtney Ogle drew a walk. Fernandez sent the ball into the outfield for Kindle Gault to score on the sacrifice and Blinn to take a 3-2 lead for good. Cedillo hit a one-run single, while Pisaro followed with a two-run double for the Buccaneers to lead 6-2. Pisaro scored Blinn's last run of the inning on a sacrifice fly off the bat of Langston.

Galveston scored its final run of the game in the fifth inning on a one-run single. 

Blinn was not finished scoring, adding two runs in the fifth inning when Fernandez hit a one-run single to plate Zibelin and Crews scored on an error for Blinn to lead 9-3.

The Buccaneers scored their final two runs in the sixth inning as Cortemelia stole home and Crews scored on an error to run-rule the Whitecaps.

Galveston 7 – Blinn 5

Galveston tallied seven runs in one inning, which was enough to defeat Blinn, 7-5, in the doubleheader finale.

Zibelin led Blinn with two RBIs and a run, while Cedillo, Pisaro, Garcia and Kelsey Lowke each recorded one run apiece.

Blinn started off with a 4-0 lead in the first inning after Cedillo scored on a sacrifice fly and Zibelin and Crews each batted in runs with singles.

The Buccaneers' lead stretched to 5-0 when Langston scored on a sacrifice fly in the second inning.

Blinn held onto the lead until Galveston stormed back with seven runs in the fifth inning.

The Buccaneers had a chance to come back when Fernandez singled and Pisaro reached base on an error in the sixth inning, but they were left stranded in scoring position.

Next, Blinn will wrap up the regular season with a doubleheader against No. 1 Louisiana State University Eunice (Div. II) on a date to be determined.  

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 41 NJCAA national championships since 1987.