Blinn’s Harrison named Don Wilhelm Award winner

Sophomore forward Audrisa Harrison was named the Don Wilhelm Award winner as the Blinn College women's basketball most valuable player for the second time, head coach Jeff Jenkins has announced.

The Wilhelm Award is named after former Blinn College athletic director Don Wilhelm, an NJCAA Hall of Famer who served the College for 10 years.

Harrison, a 5-foot-10 forward from Coldspring High School, averaged 15.3 points and 10.8 rebounds per game this season.

Harrison's 387 rebounds this season is the most by any player in program history, and her 550 points this season ranks No. 3 all-time. She finishes her career ranked third in all-time points (879) and rebounding (596) at Blinn.

Earlier this month, Harrison was named the 11th All-American in Blinn women's basketball history and just the second to earn first-team All-America honors. In March, she was named the Region XIV Conference co-MVP.

This season marked Harrison's third at Blinn after a torn ACL forced her to miss all of the 2011-12 season. Harrison came back from the injury stronger than ever after averaging 10.6 points and 6.7 rebounds per game as a freshman.

"In hindsight, it's probably the best thing that ever happened to her," Jenkins said. "She used that year to work on her ball-handling and shooting, and she went from being a 5-10 forward who could rebound to someone who could lead your offense, ball handle and shoot the three."

Harrison said when she returned this season, she wasn't just physically stronger – she was mentally tougher as well.

"I had to start completely over," she said. "I felt like I had to put in extra work just to get back to where I was, but to be honored with this, it's amazing. It was one of my goals, but I never really thought I could reach it. It's indescribable."

Harrison has signed with Texas Tech University.

The Buccaneers' 32 victories this season shattered the previous single-season wins record of 26, and Blinn's national tournament victories over Kaskaskia, Ill. and Darton, Ga. marked the first national tournament wins in program history. This season marked the second national tournament appearance in team history and its first since 1989.