Blinn women’s basketball falls to McLennan, 67-56, in season opener

BRENHAM, Texas — Blinn College women's basketball (0-1) fell to McLennan Community College, 67-56, in the season opener on Monday night in the Kruse Center.

Despite Blinn holding a 30-26 lead at the half and for the majority of the third quarter, the Highlassies managed a run that led them to a victory.

"We played hard and competed for 35 minutes, but there was a stretch in the third quarter where McLennan took off with a run and opened the game," said Jeff Jenkins, Blinn head coach. "I am glad that we didn't quit during the last 10 minutes of play and I saw a lot of good stuff tonight."

Imani Wimbish-Gay and Missy Archie led the offense with double-digit points. Wimbish-Gay scored 17 points, while Archie followed with 14. Alexus Wykoff was next with nine points and Mariel Wade scored eight.

Blinn and McLennan played a close first quarter until the Highlassies gained a seven-point lead. With a minute remaining Archie went on a 5-0 run with a two-pointer and three-pointer for Blinn to trail 17-15 into the second quarter.

Archie continued to lead the offense with six points in the second quarter. She opened the quarter with a layup and Kristine Ezimako followed with a two-pointer for Blinn to take a 19-17 lead. McLennan gained back a 21-19 lead, but two shots from behind the free throw line by Wade and a two-pointer by Archie put the Buccaneers back on top. Blinn held the lead until the beginning of the third quarter.

McLennan opened third quarter on a 4-0 run to even the score, but a basket by Wimbish-Gay pulled Blinn back ahead. After pulling ahead, 41-38, the Highlassies rallied for seven points to hold a 45-41 advantage entering the final quarter.

McLennan pulled ahead 62-45, but the Buccaneers continued to fight with an eight-point run led by Wimbish-Gay with four points. McLennan ended the game on a 5-2 run for the victory.

Next, the Buccaneers will travel to face Temple College on Wednesday, Nov. 7, at 5:30 p.m.

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 38 NJCAA national championships since 1987.