Buccaneers earn conference win against Kilgore, 88-68

BRENHAM, Texas — The Blinn College women's basketball team (10-2, 1-1) claimed its first conference win of the season as the Buccaneers defeated Kilgore College 88-68 on Saturday afternoon in the Kruse Center.

"We played really hard, shot really well, and took care of the ball," said Jeff Jenkins, Blinn head coach. "I am glad that we responded so well after Wednesday's loss."

The Buccaneers' offense totaled 16 shots from downtown and Alanna Spencer led the way with seven for 21 points. Gabriela Bosquez was next with 16 points, while Kristine Ezimako and Keaundra Eddings scored 12 each and Mia Cherry tallied 11.

"It feels great to win this game because Kilgore is a really good team," Eddings said. "We were really prepared and came out ready to be there for each other and cheer each other on each time we scored."

Blinn started the game out strong as the Buccaneers jumped out to an 11-6 lead. Eddings led Blinn on a 11-0 run by making three 3-pointers for the Buccaneers to stay ahead 22-6. Blinn finished the opening quarter with a 26-13 advantage.

Blinn held the lead throughout the second quarter as Spencer and Eddings started things off early with a 3-pointer each. Spencer's third shot from downtown put the Buccaneers ahead 40-29 at the 1:20 mark. Bosquez sunk a shot from mid-court at the buzzer for the Buccaneers to lead Kilgore 44-31 at the break.

Returning from the half, Bosquez scored Blinn's first five points for the Buccaneers to stay ahead 49-34. Ezimako led Blinn on a 9-0 run with four points for the Buccaneers to remain on top 60-40. Blinn held a 65-49 entering the final quarter.

Blinn opened the final quarter on a 9-3 run to lead 74-52. Cherry and Spencer led the Buccaneers for the rest of the way with two 3-pointers apiece for the 88-68 victory.

Next, Blinn will host No. 3 Trinity Valley Community College on Wednesday, December 11, at 5:30 p.m. in the Kruse Center.

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 41 NJCAA national championships since 1987.