Blinn names David Johnson the first golf coach in program history

The Blinn College District has named 30-year coaching veteran David Johnson the head coach of its inaugural men's and women's golf teams.

"We are ecstatic to bring David Johnson on board," Athletic Director Scott Schumacher said. "He will be a true asset to our student-athletes, both in the classroom and on the course."

In October, Blinn announced the addition of men's and women's golf for the 2019-20 season.

"I am excited to start the men's and women's golf programs at Blinn College, particularly because of the rich tradition of athletics here," Johnson said. "I cannot wait to buy the first golf balls, recruit the first players, and compete in the first golf tournaments in the College's history."

Johnson comes to Blinn with over 30 years of collegiate coaching experience, including 18 at two-year colleges. He spent last season coaching men's golf at NCAA Division II Cameron University, where the Aggies placed fourth at the Lone Star Conference Championship.

The majority of Johnson's career has been spent coaching two-year college athletic programs. He spent 11 seasons as the men's golf coach at Paris Junior College, including one as athletic director.

While at Paris, the Dragons made five NJCAA National Tournament appearances, won two NJCAA Region XIV championships, and finished as runner-up in five NJCAA Region XIV Conference tournaments. He coached four NJCAA All-Americans, three Region XIV medalists, 16 NJCAA XIV all-region players, and seven All-Region XIV academic team members.

He spent seven seasons as an offensive coordinator for the Navarro College football team while teaching various courses, including golf.

Other tenures include coaching football and golf at Cisco Junior College and Howard Payne University, and coaching football at Hardin-Simmons University. While at Howard Payne, he launched a new golf program.

For information regarding upcoming golf tryouts, email or call 979-830-4170.

Blinn has competed in intercollegiate athletics since 1903 and captured 41 NJCAA national championships since 1987.